It Speaks!!

4

August 14, 2013 by lytlejoc

Well, THAT was a bit of a hiatus.

I’ve had a lot of people — lovely, lovely people who I can’t thank enough for reading — ask me when I was going to post again in my blog. And I’m not going to lie, I’ve been downright lazy about it. I’ve had a ton of excuses: none of my recipes were perfected enough to blog; Toby has kept me busy and completely worn out; I’ve been away to Scotland; I’ve had housework; I’ve had… eighty-four million other reasons not to sit down at the computer and write.

I spend an awful lot of time these days thinking about what I “should” be doing. The list often goes something along these lines:

I should declutter my house.

I should do laundry/dishes/floors/vacuuming.

I should be working on patterns I started designing/knitting months ago.

I should write in my blog.

I should stop smoking/eating junk/being lazy.

Truth be told, I’m the kind of person that hates being told what to do and as it turns out, I hate it even worse when I’m the person who tells me what to do. Instead of listening sensibly to myself when I start up on these lists, I rebel and do pretty much the exact opposite of what I think I should be doing. This leads to writers block, knitter’s block, stay-at-home-super-mom block and so then I am so far from the ideal self I dream of being that I completely lose sight of her. Then I fire up the ol’ Catholic guilt (which has lingered long after my faith took a hike) and get angry at myself for not accomplishing anything when I actually have a few moments to spare. Then I sulk. Then I lecture myself.

Then the whole cycle repeats.

It has come time once again, then, for me to refocus. Put things in perspective. Remember that life is not all about a sparkling clean kitchen with perfectly organized cupboards or a temple-like body (which, let’s be honest here, I’m never going to have). My should list needs to sound more like this:

I should take Toby to the beach while the summer days are stretching long and golden before me instead of staying home to hang laundry on the line.

I should read to and play with my son while he wants me to instead of shooing him away while I wash dishes. 

I should visit with people who are nearby me while I’m still in Nova Scotia instead of thinking about how long a drive it is.

I should go and work (and therefore spend time) with Scott while Toby naps in the camper instead of worrying that he might not sleep as well.

In actual fact, I should stop saying “I should…” and just DO.

Toby on the beach, Toby on the beach, Toby on the beeeeaaach... Jane Sibery, anyone??

Toby on the beach, Toby on the beach, Toby on the beeeeaaach… Jane Siberry, anyone??

The funny part is that I put off all the stuff I WANT to do and I try to get rid of the things I DON’T want to do so I can do the fun stuff later, but then I never do the fun stuff because I’m too tired. It’s so easy to get hung up on the day to day chores and random things when the fact of the matter is that there will be more chores to do tomorrow. May as well do the dishes once rather than twice, am I right??

My real dream is to write. I’d love to be a writer. But to be a writer… you have to write. So maybe instead of jumping straight up to do the dishes when Toby has his nap, I’ll sit right down and keep up this blog.

And I have loads of things I want to tell you about! I learned how to make my own sea salt. I have managed to magically create my own booze — my own BOOZE! — in my kitchen! I have perfected the art of simple and delicious homemade pizza. I discovered an almost sugarless cookie recipe for kids that Toby loves… and they’re HEALTHY! I have cured my shredded hands to the point that even my fingernails are starting to look normal again.

So that’s what you have to look forward to. I promise upcoming posts won’t be as rambling and unpolished as this one is; I just wanted to start the ball rolling. And if I make a promise to you, dear readers, then I shall just have to keep it, shan’t I?

What do you want to hear about first?? Any of the above options? Other topics you think I should explore?

4 thoughts on “It Speaks!!

  1. Tracy says:

    I want a post about ginger beer. I want to make it too!

  2. Pam Hynes says:

    I was just looking at your blog the other day to see if there might be anything new that I may have missed. It was good to read this tonight! Will be waiting for more!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

As long as I just give it a shot...

